2017 Canadian Trials - Day 4: Teams Named

The 2017 Canadian Swimming World Trials concluded with a bang, as athletes looked to book and secure their tickets to Budapest for World Championships, Taipei for FISU Games, and Indianapolis for Junior World Championships. Mackenzie Padington (ISC) stole the show once again to kick off the evening, this time in the Women’s 800m Freestyle. Dropping close to 20 seconds off her best time, Padington stormed right out of the gates, and held on to her lead as she finished first with a time of 8:31.68, beating the FINA ‘A’ standard by almost seven seconds. This swim also ranked in the Top 10 for Women’s 800m Freestyles this year. 

Nicolaas Dekker (RAPID) slid under the 2:00 barrier in the Men’s 200m Butterfly with a time of 1:59.80, earning him a silver medal. Later on, the Men’s 50m Freestyle featured Yuri Kisil (UBCDS/HPCVAN) inching closer to breaking 22.50, as he fought hard for silver with a time of 22.55. 

Sydney Pickrem (ISC) continued her domination of the individual medley events at the 2017 Canadian Swimming Trials with a commanding victory in the women’s 200m IM in a new Canadian record time of 2:09.56. Pickrem added the 200m IM to her event schedule for World Championships this summer. Sarah Darcel (ISC) was close on her heels, swimming to a bronze medal in a time of 2:12.51. Darcel will be representing Canada at the FISU games in Taipei this summer. 

On the men’s side, BC boys commanded the 200 IM, with half of the championship final being BC swimmers. Rob Hill (CHENA), riding the wave after his win in the 200 Backstroke last night, nabbed the silver in a time of 2:02.46. Luke Reilly (UBCDS/HPCVAN) followed closely behind to capture the bronze medal in 2:02.99. Both medallists will represent Canada in Taipei this summer. 

The men’s 1500m Freestyle had five BC swimmers place in the top eight. Eric Hedlin (UVPCS) took an early lead and never looked back. He won the event in a time of 15:08.35, four seconds under the FINA A cut. His teammate Jon McKay (UVPCS) swam to a bronze medal finish in a time of 15:38.39. 

Other finalists included:

  • Molly Gowans* (ISC) W800FR 9th 8:51.59
  • Jessie Gibson (SPART) W200FL 6th 2:17.47
  • Lucas Tyler (UVPCS) M200FL 6th 2:02.38
  • Markus Thormeyer (UBCDS) M50FR 4th 22.93
  • Josh Zakala (ISC) M200IM 5th 2:04.54
  • Araya Therrien (UBCDS) M200IM 8th 2:07.42
  • Colin Gilbert (KCS) M1500FR 4th 15:38.78
  • Hau-Li Fan (UBCDS) M1500FR 6th 15:46.17
  • Richard Weinberger (UVPCS) M1500FR 8th 15:47.94
  • Rafael Davila* (ISC) M1500FR 9th 15:22.23

World Championships Team


  • John Atkinson - Team Leader
  • Martyn Wilby - Head Coach
  • Mark Perry - Head Coach Open Water
  • Ben Titley - Coach
  • Claude St. Jean - Coach 
  • Ryan Mallette - Coach
  • Linda Kiefer - Coach
  • Tom Johnson - Coach

Pool Swimmers

  • Tristan Cote (ESWIM)
  • Ashley McGregor (PCSC)
  • Sydney Pickrem (ISC) 
  • Mackenzie Padington (ISC)
  • Erika Seltenreich-Hodgson (GO/HPCVAN)
  • Yuri Kisil (UBCDS/HPCVAN)
  • Markus THormeyer (UBCDS/HPCVAN)
  • Carson Olafson (UBCDS/HPCVAN
  • Kylie Masse (WEST)
  • Kierra Smith (LLSC)
  • Alex Loginov (TSC)
  • Hilary Caldwell (ISC/HPCVIC)
  • Jeremy Bagshaw (ISC/HPCVIC)
  • Mary-Sophie Harvey (NN)
  • Josiah Binnema (EKSC)
  • Rachel Nicol (LASC)
  • Javier Acevedo (AAC)
  • Chantal Van Landeghem (TSC)
  • Sandrine Mainville (CAMO)
  • Katerine Savard (CAMO)
  • Richard Funk (TSC/HPC-ON)
  • Penny Oleksiak (TSC/ HPC-ON)
  • Michelle Toro (NYAC/HPC-ON)
  • Kayla Sanchez (AAC/HPC-ON)
  • Rebecca Smith (SCAR/HPC-ON)
  • Olivia Anderson (ESWIM)

Open Water Swimmers

  • Jade Dusablon (CAMO)
  • Philippe Guertin (CAMO)
  • Breanne Siwicki (MANTA)
  • Eric Hedlin (UVPCS)
  • Stephanie Horner (PCSC)
  • Richard Weinberger (UVPCS)

2017 FISU Games (Summer Universiade)


  • Iain McDonald - Team Leader
  • Vlastimil Cerny - Head Coach
  • Mark Perry - Head Coach Open Water
  • Claude St. Jean - Coach
  • Marc-Andre Pelletier - Coach


  • Bailey Andison (PERTH)
  • Jeremy Bagshaw (ISC/HPCVIC)
  • Josiah Binnema (EKSC)
  • Tristan Cote (ESWIM)
  • Sarah Darcel (ISC/HPCVIC)
  • Jade Dusablon (CAMO)
  • Sarah Fournier (CNQ)
  • Mackenzie Glover (UMAN)
  • Kennedy Goss (GATORS)
  • Philippe Guertin (CAMO)
  • Danielle Hanus (ISC/HPCVIC)
  • Eric Hedlin (UVPCS)
  • Rob Hill (CHENA)
  • Jacqueline Keire (OAK)
  • Alex Loginov (TSC)
  • Danica Ludlow (UCSC)
  • Luke Reilly (UBCDS/HPCVAN)
  • Katerine Savard (CAMO)
  • Kierra Smith (LLSC)
  • Lauren Teghtsoonian (MANTA)
  • Markus THormeyer (UBCDS/HPCVAN)
  • Eli Wall (TSC)
  • Kelsey Wog (UMAN)
  • Alexia Zevnik (PCSC)

2017 FINA World Junior Swimming Championships


  • Ken McKinnon - Team Leader
  • Brad DIngey (NextGen-Vic) - Head Coach
  • Tina Hoeben (KISU) - Coach
  • Dave Johnson (CASC) - Coach


  • Ruslan Gaziev (ESWIM)
  • Jade Hannah (ISC/NextGen-Vic)
  • Faith Knelson (ISC/NextGen-Vic)
  • Victoria Kwan (MAC)
  • Jaren LeFranc (KISU)
  • Gabe Mastromatteo (KSS)
  • Penny Oleksiak (TSC/HPC-ON)
  • Katja Pavicevic (TSC)
  • Alexander Pratt (CASC)
  • Taylor Ruck (UNATT)
  • Kayla Sanchez (AAC/HPC-ON)
  • Rebecca Smith (SCAR/HPC-ON)
  • Mabel Zavaros (OAK)
  • Rosie Zavaros (OAK)