AAA LCM Champs - Day 2 Recap

SwimBC swimmers continued to cruise to some fast times and best times on day 2 of the 2017 SwimBC LCM AAA Championships. 


Records continued to fall on Friday in Kamloops. One of the biggest highlights of the night came from the Men’s Para 100m FR, where Jacob Brayshaw (PSW) smashed the Canadian Record he set earlier this year by ten seconds, lowering the mark to a 5:03.68. Yutong Wu (HYACK) broke yet another provincial record, this time in the Men’s 11-12 200m BK. This record was also set back in 1991 by fellow HYACK swimmer Andrew Cho. 


Other highlights from Friday include the Women’s 16-18 100m FR, Men’s 14-15 100m FR, Women’s 11 and under 400m IM, Men’s 14-15 200m BK, and the Men’s 12-13 1500m FR. The Women’s 16-18 100m FR was one of the closest races of the evening. The top five girls were all within 0.17 seconds of each other. Avery Movold (PGB) touched first in a time of 58.30. Movold was closely followed by Megan Dalke (KCS) and Mackenzie Gunther (VPSC) who touched in 58.34 and 58.43, respectively. Meredith Levorson (VKSC) and Paige Bergen (UBCDS) touched just 0.15 and 0.17 seconds behind Movold. The Men’s 14-15 100m FR was also close, with all of the swimmers finishing within 2.4 seconds of each other. The top 3 finishers all were under the 55 second barrier. Tim Tan (HANEY) touched first followed by James LeBuke (CSSSC) and Thomas Kranjc (WDSC). The Women’s 11 and under 400m IM had three girls break the six minute barrier: Jordan Vertue (PGB), Gracie Maryschak (LOSC), and Isobel McNeill (LOSC). Vertue won the event by almost 17 seconds. The Men’s 14-15 200m BK had a close race for first through third, as well as fourth through eighth. Jacob Rambo (UVPCS) touched in 2:13.69 to win gold, followed by Matthew Crawford (RAPID) for silver and Scott Pfeifer (SKSC) for bronze. The Men’s 12-13 1500m FR was also an impressive race, as six out of the top eight swimmers dropped at least 19 seconds from their entry times. Yutong Wu (HYACK) touched first in a time of 17:47.19. The greatest time drop came from eighth place finisher Nathan Leung (WSC-BC) with 53.15 seconds taken off his entry time. 


Overall Team Scores:

1. UVPCS 1036

2.HYACK 876

3. KISU 760

4. VPSC 642.5

5. ISC 614

6. PSW 585.5

7. KCS 554

8. LOSC 507

9. RAPID 475

10. CRKW 404


Keep up the momentum over the next two days of competition!