2018 Tier II Summer Championships - Day 1 Recap

525 of Swim BC’s fastest age group swimmers dove in the waters at Saanich Commonwealth Place on Friday to kick off the 2018 Swim BC Tier II Summer Championships, hosted by Pacific Coast Swimming. Events for the day included the 400m FR para multi-class,100m BR para multi-class, 800m FR, 200m FR, 200m BK, 100m BR, 400m IM, and 200m Medley Relay. 


Highlights include the Boys 16-18 200m FR, Girls 14 and under 200m BK, Girls 15-18 100m BR, and Boys 15 and under 400m IM. The Boys 16-18 200m FR saw close racing amongst both the A and B final. Brodie Young (HYACK) charged to a gold medal in a 1:56.25 following a strong second 100 meters. Ryley McRae (KCS) finished hot on his heels with a 1:56.82 for second place. Matthew Meuleman (RAPID) was out fastest with a 100m split of 56.85, managed to hold off the other swimmers in the field to claim the bronze medal in a 1:57.20. The Girls 14 and under 200m BK showcased a strong battle between Kara Beuregard (CRKW), Taylor Fitzgerald (WLBF), Zadie Fack (PSW), Isabella Brunoro (SFA), and Jordan Vertue (PGB). These five swimmers all finished within just over a second of each other. Beuregard came out on top to claim the silver in a 2:27.61 and Fitzgerald followed just 0.03 seconds behind in a 2:27.64 for the bronze. Thea Masselink (ISC) cruised to a victory with a margin of a little under seven seconds with a time of 2:20.82. The podium in the Girls 15-18 100m BR was hotly contested, with the top three girls finishing within 0.18 seconds of each other. Christina Tan (RAPID) was out fast and was able to hold onto first place, finishing in a 1:14.80. Gabby Wei (VPSC) hit the wall just behind her in a 1:14.96 following a strong second 50m. Sheigh Gaudette (SPART) rounded out the podium in a 1:14.99, just 0.03 seconds behind Wei. The Boys 15 and under 400m IM was a tight battle, with the lead changing hands several times over the course of the race between Justin Fotherby (KISU), Yutong Wu (HYACK), and Andy Cho (SKSC). Cho had a strong butterfly split in a 1:00.71, but not strong enough to hold off Wu’s charge on the backstroke leg. Both Fotherby and Cho slid ahead of Wu on the breaststroke leg. Fotherby was able to hold off his competitors to claim gold in a 4:42.00. Wu followed in a 4:42.19 for silver, just 0.19 seconds behind after a final charge on the freestyle leg. Cho claimed the final medal in a 4:43.30.


Team Scores


1. HYACK 391

2. ISC 331

3. RAPID 294

4. UVPCS 266

5. LOSC 260

6. KWIC 217

7. KISU 206

8. SFA 198

9. SKSC 171

10. SPART 162.5


Keep up the phenomenal racing over the next two days of competition!