2018 Tier II Summer Championships - Day 2 Recap

Swim BC swimmers continued to shine at day two of the 2018 Swim BC Tier II Summer Championships. The Saturday events included the 100m FR para multi-class, 100m FR, 200m BR, 100m FL para multi-class, 100m FL, 400m FR, and 200m Medley Relay.


The lone record of day two came from Madisen Jacques (HYACK), who broke her own provincial record set at provincials last year in the 11-12 Girls 100m FL. Her time of 1:03.70 eclipsed her previous record by almost two seconds. 


The Boys 16-18 100m FR, Girls 14 and under 200m BR, Girls 15-18 100m FL, and Boys 15 and under 400m FR highlighted the finals session of day two. The Boys 16-18 100m FR saw the top three boys all go 52 seconds. James LeBuke (CSSSC), Tyler Wall (KISU), and Brian Ni (ISC) were all out within two tenths of each other at the 50m split. LeBuke snagged the touched in a 52.64 to win the event. Wall touched the wall just 0.09 seconds behind in a 52.73 for silver and Ni rounded out the podium in a 52.94. The Girls 14 and under 200m BR saw the entire A final better their prelims swims. Ashley McMillan (KISU) won the event in a 2:41.78, followed by Blake Currie (VPSC) in a 2:44.67 for the silver, and Andrea Kraetzer (KWIC) in a 2:45.90 for the bronze. The Girls 15-18 100m FL exhibited strong racing, with all of the A finalists finishing the event within two seconds of each other. The podium was a particularly strong contest, with all three medal winners going 1:03. Avery Movold (PGB) swam to a 1:03.07 to earn first place. Kelsey Andrusak (ISC) finished in a 1:03.30 for second place and Giselle Steiner (VPSC) touched in a 1:03.89 for the final medal position. The Boys 15 and under 400m FR was a fast event, as the top five times would have been competitive in the 16-18 age group. Samuel Pei (RAPID) had the second fastest overall 400m FR time with a 4:09.86 to claim gold in the 15 and under category. Yutong Wu (HYACK) charged to a 4:12.09 to claim the silver. The bronze medal race between Hugh McNeill (LOSC) and Justin Fotherby (KISU) came down to the final 100 meters. McNeill out touched Fotherby by a mere 0.02 seconds to earn the final medal position in a time of 4:14.44.


As of the end of finals on Saturday, ISC leads the way in team points with 672 points. HYACK is less than 40 points behind with 634 points and the host team UVPCS is currently sitting in third place with 476 points.


Team Scores


1. ISC 672

2. HYACK 634

3. UVPCS 476

4. RAPID 454

5. LOSC 421

6. KISU 372

7. SFA 355

8. KWIC 326

9. SKSC 303

10. PSW 267


Best of luck to all swimmers and keep up the momentum on the final day of racing!