2018 Tier II Age Group Championships - Day 1 Recap

The 2018 Tier II Age Group Championships (SCM), hosted by Kamloops Classics Swimming, kicked off on Friday at the Canada Games Aquatic Centre in Kamloops. Approximately 430 swimmers dove into the pool today to begin the competition. Events included the 200m FL, 50m FR, 100m BK, 200m IM, 1500 m FR, and the 200m FR Relays.

The sole record to fall was at the hands of Peter Huang (HYACK). Huang crushed not only the provincial record, but also the national record in the Boy’s 11-12 200m FL record in his prelims swim in a time of 2:11.22. The previous provincial record was set almost 30 years ago in 1991 by HYACK compatriot Andrew Cho. Previously, this was the oldest age group provincial SCM record. Huang was over three seconds under the previous national record was set back in  2013. His time was good enough for the bronze medal in the 15 and under category. 

Other highlights from the evening include the Boy’s 15 and under 50m FR, Girl’s 15-18 100m BK, Girl’s 14 and under 200m IM, and Boy’s 16-18 200m IM. The Boy’s 15 and under 50m FR saw the top three swimmers break the 25 second barrier, all within 0.07 seconds of each other. Ethan Skofteby (CSSSC) touched first in a time of 24.79, followed by Laurenz Weber (KISU) in 24.82, and Joel Goh (VPSC) in 24.86. There was also a tight race between fifth to eighth place, where the four swimmers all touched within 0.08 seconds of each other. The Girl’s 15-18 100m BK showcased another tight race between podium finishers, with all three girls going under 1:03. Axana Merckx (KWIC) picked up the gold in a time of 1:02.33, Keana Smart (KCS) nabbed the silver in 1:02.62, and Avery Movold (PGB) rounded out the podium just 0.3 seconds behind Smart in a time of 1:02.92. Merckx had a solid second half after flipping in second place, 0.7 seconds behind Smart, at the 50m wall. The Girl’s 14 and under 200m IM had a tight race between 2nd to 4th place. Camryn Stannard (NRST) touched in second in a time of 2:23.47. Madisen Jacques (HYACK) claimed the final medal in a time of 2:23.80 and Erin Epp (KWIC) touched fourth in 2:24.15. Ashley McMillan (KISU) commanded an early lead which she held for the entire race to touch first in a time of 2:21.49. The Boy’s 16-18 200m IM was a tight battle between Joshua Kim (LOSC), Scott Pfeifer (SKSC), and James LeBuke (CSSSC) for the medals on the freestyle leg. Pfeifer led the field for the FL and BK legs, touching the wall at the half-way point in a time of 59.90. Kim pulled ahead after a strong BR leg, splitting 35.25 for the 50m, and held the lead, touching in a time of 2:06.20. Pfeifer followed closely behind in 2:06.95. LeBuke trailed Kim and Pfeifer by two seconds at the 150m wall, but caught up with his impressive FR leg to touch in 2:07.15.

Overall Team Standings

1. ISC 746

2. KISU 745.5

3. VPSC 484

4. SFA 461

5. KWIC 361

6. LOSC 333.5

7. HYACK 326.5

8. WVOSC 313

9. SKSC 280.5

10. PSW 236

Congratulations to all of the swimmers who competed on Friday, and best of luck over the remainder of the swim meet!