2018 Winter Senior Open - Meet Recap

The 2018 Swim BC Winter Senior Open, hosted by the Vancouver Pacific Swim Club, took place this past weekend in Vancouver at the UBC Aquatic Centre. All athletes raced to some fast swims, best times, and new records over all three days of the competition. 


Several records fell at the hands of the 11-12 boys. Peter Huang (HYACK), who recently had a similarly record breaking weekend at the 2018 Swim BC Tier II Championships, carried over his provincial record/national record breaking streak to the long course pool. His time of 2:13.73 broke the provincial record set just last year by six seconds. He also cut almost a second off of the previous national standard set back in 2013. Sergey Chernomorchenko (PSW) broke the oldest LCM male record in the 400m IM in heats with a 5:03.36 to the previous standard of 5:03.60. He then continued on to break his record from the morning with a 5:02.86 in finals. Honourable mention goes to Madisen Jacques (HYACK), who narrowly missed breaking her own provincial record in the 11-12 Girls 100m FL by 0.02 seconds. 


Highlights from the weekend include the Women’s 200m IM, and Women’s 100m BR on Saturday, as well as the Men’s 50m FR, Women’s 200m BK, Men’s 100m FL, and Men’s 400m IM on Sunday. The Women’s 200m IM saw the UBCT ladies sweep the podium, with Maia Brundage (UBCT) touching first in a 2:17.87, followed by Hillary Metcalfe (UBCT in a 2:18.55, and Megan Dalke (UBCT) in a 2:19.21. Later that evening, Metcalfe went head-to-head with former LOSC teammate Bailey Herbert (LOSC) in the 100m BR. It was a tight race, with Metcalfe leading the way at the halfway point. Herbert just edged her out following a strong last 50m with a 1:11.28. Metcalfe finished 0.06 seconds behind in a 1:11.34. Tina Guan (CHENA) rounded out the podium with a 1:14.77. There was also a close race between the fourth to sixth place finishers, with all girls hitting the wall within under half a second of each other. The Men’s 50m FR showcased a tight race for the silver medal between James LeBuke (CSSSC) and Tyler Wall (KISU), with the two men touching within 0.01 seconds of each other. LeBuke came out on top with a 24.18, with Wall racing to a 24.19. Alex Loginov (TSC) cruised to a 1.5 second victory over the rest of the field in a 22.61. UBCT teammates continued to fight for podium positions, this time in the Women’s 200m BK. Ingrid Wilm (UBCT) touched just 0.12 seconds ahead of Dalke in a 2:18.83 to Dalke’s 2:18.95. Hana Edwards (UVPCS) upset a UBCT podium sweep by beating out Olivia Ellard (UBCT) by 0.53 seconds to touch in a 2:21.47. The Men’s 100m FL was perhaps one of the closest races of the weekend. Connor Wilkins (UBCT) charged to a victory in a 56.99. Nicolaas Dekker (RAPID) stopped the clock in a 57.12, just ahead of bronze medallist Adrian Vanderhelm (BTSC) who touched in a 57.25. The Men’s 400m IM showcased a battle of the Nolan’s between fifth place finisher Nolan Joudrie (CHENA) and sixth place finisher Nolan Paul (TRUW). The two men touched within 0.04 seconds of each other. Brodie Young (HYACK) won the race by a 10 second margin, far ahead of second place finisher Scott Pfeifer (SKSC) and third place finisher Jacob Rambo (UVPCS). 


Highlights from the para races this weekend include the Women’s 400m FR Para Multi-Class, Men’s 100m BK Para Multi-Class, Women’s 100m BR Para Multi-Class, and Men’s 100m FL Para Multi-Class. The Women’s 400m Para Multi-Class saw both women go four second best times. Amber Thomas (S11 SB11 SM11) (NRST) came first in a time of 5:42.24, and Maggie Manning (S9 SB8 SM9) (CSSSC) claimed the silver medal in a 5:39.75. The Men’s 100m BK Para Multi-Class saw all three men go best times. Nick Bennett (S14 SB14 SM14) (RAC) hit the wall in a 1:14.05. James Kwaksistala (S9 SB8 SM9) (RAPID) cut over five seconds off of his best time to claim the silver in a 1:21.75, and Ramon Siytangco (S14 SB14 SM14) (VPSC) followed closely behind in a 1:21.97. The Women’s 100m BR Para Multi-Class saw all three women drop a lot of time from their previous bests. Nicole Fast (SB9) (TYEE) was the fastest finisher, touching in a 1:33.13. Her teammate Sophie Wood (S10 SB9 SM10) (TYEE) hit the wall in a 1:49.75 to claim second place. Manning continued her podium performances with a third place finish in a time of 1:58.44. Bennett was racing by himself in the Men’s 100m FL Para Multi-Class. Even on his own, he managed to lop two second off of his best time.


Congratulations to all athletes and coaches for your performances this past weekend, and best of luck at any upcoming meets. Thank you to all parents, volunteers, officials, sponsors, as well as the host club VPSC for helping the meet run so smoothly.