TORONTO – Some of Canada’s strongest swimming events will take centre stage Wednesday at the Pan Am Games.

Canadian swimmers will look to follow up on a six-medal “Terrific Tuesday” with another strong night of finals beginning at 7 p.m. at the Pan Am Aquatic Centre.

Canadian women sit 1-2 in the 200-m backstroke entering tonight, with Dominique Bouchard of North Bay, Ont., holding top seed at 2:09.59. She’s followed closely by 2013 world championship medallist Hilary Caldwell (HPC-VICTORIA/PSW) (2:10.15) of the Swimming Canada High Performance Centre – Victoria.

Meanwhile, Kierra Smith (LLSC) of Kelowna, B.C., set a new Pan Am Games record of 2:25.41 in the women’s 200-m breaststroke in Wednesday morning’s preliminary heats. She enters the final in top spot, while Toronto native Martha McCabe of the High Performance Centre – Ontario swam a heat of 2:27.47 to advance in third.

Canada will be looking for another relay medal as the men’s 4×200-m freestyle team of Stefan Milosevic (HPC-VANCOUVER/UBCDS), Yuri Kisil (UBCT), Ryan Cochrane (HPC-VICTORIA/ISC) and Coleman Allen (HPC-VANCOUVER/UBCDS) turned in a time of 7:19.86 to advance in second.

In the men’s 200-m breaststroke, Edmonton’s Richard Funk moved on to the final with a new personal best time of 2:12.22, good for third-fastest in the morning.

In the women’s 200-m freestyle, Katerine Savard of Pont-Rouge, Que./CAMO advanced in fourth position with a time of 1:59.74, while Emily Overholt (HPC-VANCOUVER/WVOSC) of the High Performance Centre – Vancouver sits sixth at 2:00.43

Jeremy Bagshaw (ISC) of Victoria’s Island Swimming advanced to the final of the men’s 200-m freestyle in fifth position with a prelim time of 1:48.76.

In the men’s 200-m backstroke Calgary’s Russell Wood moved on in seventh spot with a time of 2:01.28.

In B finals tonight, Victorian Alec Page (HPC-VICTORIA/ISC) will be in action in the men’s 200-m freestyle after a morning swim of 1:50.34. Also taking part in B final action will be Vancouver’s James Dergousoff in the men’s 200-m breaststroke (2:16.30).

Markus Thormeyer (WDSC) of the Delta, B.C./Winskill Dolphins finished 19th in the men’s 200-m backstroke with a time of 2:08.93.