Day 3 at 2015 Western Canada Summer Games

The pool events at the 2015 Western Canada Games concluded on Saturday with TeamBC solidifying its lead in the overall team standings, with just the 5K open water races to come on Sunday.

The first medal event of the day - the men’s 800Free - was contested at the end of the prelims session, and coming through with a lifetime best by over 16 seconds was BC’s Andrew Woinoski (SFA) in a time of 8:16.59. Andrew took charge right from the start of the race and never looked back. Ethan Phillips (KCS) picked up the silver, while Paul Zou (WDSC) was third and Conner Skuse (CRKW) posted the fifth-fastest time; however, with the scoring rules at the meet, only the top two officially score, and thus, Paul did not receive a medal.

The women’s 800 Free later in the day again had BC post the top three times, with Molly Gowans (UVPCS) just barely holding off Megan Dalke (KCS) by a tenth of a second. Brooke Lamoureux (COMOX) was the third-fastest in the pool. Molly added a silver in 200 Free later in the session.

The opening relays of the day - the 4x50 Free - saw BC claim victory on the women’s side, with the men coming in just behind Team Alberta.

Josh Zakala (KAJ) continued his strong swimming from throughout the meet with wins in the men’s 200 Free and 200 IM; his main competition in the meet was teammate Colin Gilbert (KCS), who, after barely beating Josh in the 400 Free, came in just behind in the 200 Free.

Tai Long Singh (WDSC) continued his string of gold medals in individual events with a win in the men’s 100 Fly, while Lucas Tyler (UVPCS) took the silver.

Aimee Brennan (SKSC) and Ian Ralston (CRKW) won their respective para 200IM events, with Aimee also picking up a bronze in 200 IM; Aidan McDonough (PSW) took silver in 100 Breast and bronze in 200IM.

Hannah Esopenko (PGB) had another good day in the pool, winning bronze medals in 100 Breast and 200IM, while silver medals in those events were won by Renae Ledoux (LOSC) and Mackenzie Padington (CKRW), respectively.

Harry Duan (CDSC) won the bronze in the men’s 100 Breast, as did Jessie Gibson (SPART) in the women’s 200 Free.