2017 Canadian Trials - Day 2

The 2017 Canadian Swimming Trials kicked off Day 2 with the same flare that was demonstrated on the first day. Highlights of the night included the Men’s 100m Freestyle, where Yuri Kisil, Markus Thormeyer, and Carson Olafson (UBCDS/HPCVAN) swept the podium and finished 1, 2 and 3 respectively. Kisil touched at a time of 48.90, with Thormeyer (49.13) and Olafson (50.28) finishing close behind. 

The Women’s 100m Breaststroke featured BC swimmers Kierra Smith (KWIC) and Faith Knelson (ISC) on the podium. Smith raced hard to capture 2nd place with a time of 1:08.44, while Knelson was close behind with a time of 1:08.80 to claim the bronze medal. On the Men’s side, James Dergousoff (CHENA) finished 3rd with a time of 1:02.26.

Host club swimmers Sydney Pickrem and Sarah Darcel (ISC) had the pool loud during the women's 400IM, as they fought hard to finish 1st and 3rd respectively. Pickrem touched with a time of 4:35.43, just under the FINA "A" cut, earning her spot on the 2015 World Championships team, while Darcel was close behind to finish with a time of 4:39.29. Darcel was also well under the FINA "A" cut, but countries can only enter two swimmers per event at Worlds.

The Men’s 400IM had Luke Reilly (UBCDS/HPCVAN) claiming silver with a time of 4:18.14, just barely missing the FINA A qualifying standard, which would have earned him a guaranteed spot on the World Championships team.  Rob Hill (CHENA), meanwhile, won the bronze medal with a time of 4:20.47 in that event.

The Men’s and Women’s 50m Backstroke pool records for the Saanich Commonwealth Place were broken on Day 2. Kylie Masse (WEST) broke the record in prelims and again in finals to win gold with a time of 27.71. Tim Zeng (CHENA) broke the 15 year old pool record and claimed gold with a time of 25.47. Other BC medalists included silver medalist Ingrid Wilm (UBCDS/HPCVAN) and bronze medalist Jade Hannah (ISC), who finished with the times of 28.40 and 28.60, respectively, on the women’s side. 

Other finalists included:

  • Jeremy Bagshaw (ISC) M100FR 7th 50.64
  • Stefan Milosevic (UBCDS/HPCVAN) M100FR 8th 50.74
  • Renae Ledoux (PSW) W100BR 7th 1:12.21
  • Hillary Metcalfe (LOSC) W400IM 6th 4:52.16
  • Josh Zakala (ISC) M400IM 4th 4:21.90
  • Danielle Hanus (ISC) W50BK 5th 28.78
  • Eloise Ladyman (KCS) W50BK 8th 29.85
  • Nicolaas Dekker (RAPID) M50BK 8th 26.78

Congratulations to all of the swimmers who competed today! Here’s to 2 more days of great racing!