SwimBC Members Win at SportBC Awards

Three SwimBC members were recognized for their outstanding accomplishments in 2009 by winning their respective categories at the 44th Annual Sport BC Athlete of the Year Awards Gala, held on March 31, 2010, at the RiverRock Show Theatre in Richmond, BC.

Each year, each of the 60 member sports of SportBC are invited to put forward their nominees in thirteen different categories, including Senior and Junior Male and Female Athletes of the Year, along with other categories such as Coach, College, University, and Disabled Athlete of the Year.  Past winners have included such luminaries as NBA All-Star Steve Nash.

Just to make it to the list of finalists (three finalists are selected in each category) is quite an achievement, and this year, SwimBC had six nominees make it through to the finals, and they were as follows:


  • Senior Female Athlete:  Annamay Pierse (UBCD)
  • Senior Male Athlete:  Ryan Cochrane (IS)
  • Athlete with a Disability:  Donovan Tildesley (UBCD)
  • University Athlete:  Callum Ng (UBCT)
  • Official of the Year:  Nelli Hanbury
  • Coach of the Year:  Joszef Nagy (National Swim Centre-Vancouver)

At the end of the day, three SwimBC finalists were awarded with the powerful duo of Annamay Pierse and her coach, Joszef Nagy, being recognized for Annamay's world-record performances in 2009 (three in all), as well as her silver-medal performance at the FINA World Aquatic Championships in Rome, Italy, last August.

Donovan Tildesley, who is completely blind, was also recognized as the Athlete with a Disability of the Year, on the basis of his numerous wins at international meets, including a World Record in 200 Butterfly, as well as the Canadian Record in 200 IM in his classification.

Notable winners from other categories included Snowboard Cross Gold-medalist Maelle Ricker as 2010 Olympian of the Year, as well as VANOC CEO, who was recognized as the SportBC Sportsman of the Decade, for his tireless work in spearheading first the bid, then overseeing the successful staging of the best Olympic and Paralympic Games ever - in Vancouver in February-March 2010.

Below is the full list of winners from the 44th Annual SportBC Awards Gala:

Athlete with a Disability sponsored by Global Television
Donovan Tildesley, Vancouver, Swimming

Coach of the Year sponsored by BCLC
Jozef Nagy, Vancouver, Swimming

High School Female Athlete
Jessica Barnett, North Vancouver, Multi-sports

High School Male Athlete
Joseph Patko, Port Coquitlam, Football

College Athlete sponsored by Infigo
Loren Lidin, Port Moody, Soccer

Junior Female Athlete
Sue Kim, Langley, Golf

Junior Male Athlete
Andre Ho, Richmond, Table Tennis

Master Athlete sponsored by SBC Insurance
Olga Kotelko, West Vancouver, Athletics

University Athlete sponsored by The Province
Jacob Doerksen, Abbotsford, Basketball

Official of the Year sponsored by The Vancouver Sun
John Cull, Surrey, Athletics

Team of the Year sponsored by Team 1040
Vernon Vipers, Vernon, Hockey

Senior Female Athlete sponsored by O2 West
Annamay Pierse, Vancouver, Swimming

Senior Male Athlete sponsored by TELUS
Manuel Osborne-Paradis, Invermere, Alpine Skiing

Community Champion 
Emily Brydon, Fernie, Alpine Skiing

Best of BC
Mitch Berger, North Delta, Football

Daryl Thompson Award
KC Emerson, Vancouver, Triathlon

Harry Jerome Comeback Award sponsored by Chef Claire
Jim Armstrong, Richmond, Wheelchair Curling

2010 Olympian sponsored by City of Vancouver
Maëlle Ricker, Squamish, Snowboardcross

2010 Paralympian sponsored by Resort Municipality of Whistler
Lauren Woolstencroft, North Vancouver, Para-Alpine Skiing

Sportsman of the Decade
John Furlong, Richmond