50th Annual Sport BC Athlete of the Year Award Winners

The milestone 50th Annual Sport BC Athlete of the Year awards was held on March 10 at the Vancouver Conference Center


SwimBC extends its congratulations to all of our members – athletes, coaches, and volunteers – who were nominated, and in particular to Emily Overholt(UBCD) – Won the Junior Female Athlete of the Year, Markus Thormeyer (UBCD) –  Won the Junior Male Athlete of the Year, and Nathan Stein (SKSC) and Ryan Cochrane (ISC) whose performances last year earned an invitation to the Awards Banquet as one of the three finalists in their respective categories.


The competition for these awards is always very strong, so it is with great pride that we are able to share in the recognition of both Emily and Markus, as well as their coach, Tom Johnson, in being named Junior Athletes of the Year.


On a more sombre note, we also extend our thanks to the nominating committee of Sport BC for posthumously honouring the late Randy Bennett, who served for most of the last decade as Canada’s Head Coach at World Championships and Olympic Games.


Congratulations once again to all who were nominated; Swim BC is extremely proud of their hard work, dedication, and commitment to excellence.